Return to Headlines

OSD Administrator and Teacher of the Year

Teachers of the Year 2019

Pictured left to right: Brittany Hendrix, BES Teacher of the Year; LaJeremy Hughes, DDES Teacher of the Year; Kesha Howell-Atkinson, OMS Teacher of the Year; Brittany Franks, OHS and District Teacher of the Year; Mary Beth Sellers, OES Teacher of the Year; Carolyn Murphy, OIS Teacher of the Year; and Barbara Wortham, OLC Teacher of the Year.

Oxford, Mississippi (February 1, 2019) — The Oxford School District announced seven Oxford school teachers as honorees in the district’s 2019 Teacher of the Year Awards Program.

As part of the annual teacher recognition program, each school in the district honors their very own Teacher of the Year. Representing their school as 2019 Teacher of the Year are:

  • Brittany Hendrix, Bramlett Elementary School
  • Mary Beth Sellers, Oxford Elementary School
  • LaJeremy Hughes, Della Davidson Elementary School
  • Carolyn Murphy, Oxford Intermediate School
  • Kesha Howell-Atkinson, Oxford Middle School
  • Brittany Franks, Oxford High School
  • Barbara Wortham, Oxford Learning Center

“We honor these teachers for their outstanding contributions to the public education of all students in our district,” said OSD Superintendent Brian Harvey. “These teachers have a superior ability to inspire students, possess leadership capabilities and are active members of the Oxford community.”

These seven teachers completed the application for Mississippi Teacher of the Year from which the district's Teacher of the Year was selected. This year, Brittany Franks was chosen by the faculty advisory council and will represent the district in the statewide competition. 

In addition, the district named Yolanda Logan the 2019 District Administrator of the Year. Logan is the Principal at Oxford Learning Center. Chosen by her fellow administrators, Logan began her career in education in 1989 and has served OSD as an administrator for 8 years.