• The Department of Special Education

    The Oxford School District is committed to providing a free, appropriate public education (FAPE) to students with disabilities, ages 3-21. In order to meet the unique educational needs of these students, a wide range of placement and programming options are utilized throughout the district.

    To be eligible for special education services, a student must meet the eligibility criteria specified in the Mississippi State Policies Regarding Children with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 2004 (State Board Policy 74.19) and be in need of specialized instruction and/or related services. The thirteen disability categories include:

    1. Autism
    2. Deaf-Blind
    3. Developmental Delay
    4. Emotional Disability
    5. Hearing Impairment
    6. Language/Speech Impairment
    7. Intellectual Disability
    8. Multiple Disability
    9. Orthopedic Impairment
    10. Other Health Impairment
    11. Specific Learning disability
    12. Traumatic Brain Injury
    13. Visual Impairment

    For further information please contact:

    Toni Bell
    Director of Special Education
    1637 Highway 30 East
    Oxford, MS 38655
    Tel: 662-234-3541
    Fax: 662-232-2862
    Email: trbell@oxfordsd.org

    Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (as amended)

    This civil rights legislation prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in schools and other entities receiving Federal monetary assistance. In compliance with this legislation, the Oxford School District does not discriminate against individuals with disabilities.

Last Modified on August 17, 2021